Home Brewing Day 17 – Chocolate Maple Porter, Day 1 – Domestic Dubbel

My first batch of home-brew got bottled, so I might as well move onto the next batch.  I went back to Culver City Home Brewing Supply to pick up the ingredients for a brew based on their “Double Trouble Belgian Dubble” Trappist Ale, which I selected after enjoying La Trappe Quadrupel (Koningshoeven) at Wurstküche last week.  Their recipes generally use extract, but since I already had experience using all-grain, I continued with the trend, and CCHBS was happy to oblige with an all-grain recipe pared down to produce 1 gallon.

Recipe
1 lbs 9.5 oz Pale Malt (2.0 SRM)
5.8 oz Munich Malt (dark) (9.0 SRM)
0.7 oz Aromatic Malt (26.0 SRM)
0.7 oz Biscuit Malt (23.0 SRM)
0.7 oz Special B Malt (180.0 SRM)
1/10 bottle Belgian Dark Candi Syrup

Hops
0.13 oz Perle (6.5%) – 60 mins.
0.05 oz Styrian Goldings (4.0%) – 0 mins.

Wyeast 3787 Trappist Ale High Gravity

I also picked up a bottle of Iodaphor, a large strainer, and a case of flip-top bottles, while I was there.  If you started with the Brooklyn Brew Shop kit as I did, I suggest picking up these things as well.  I also picked up a 5 ½ gallon stock pot from Super Home Mart, as I start to gather some tools to eventually make 5 gallons at a time.

The brewing process went a lot smoother the second time around.  However, I still made some major slip-ups.  I think the boil was too aggressive, and I ended up with only a ½ gallon of wort.  I forgot to add the second batch of hops at the end of the boil; and I only remembered to add them after I had already begun to cool the wort down, so they didn’t dissolve all the way.

Dubble Trubble Trappist Ale

Another two weeks and we’ll see how the first batch of Chocolate Maple Porter comes out.

3 thoughts on “Home Brewing Day 17 – Chocolate Maple Porter, Day 1 – Domestic Dubbel

  1. congrats on your 1st batch. the title caught my eye as I am formulating a recipe for a smoked maple porter. the only problem I see is you have no grains or cocao for chocolate flavor, and well no maple syrup for maple, and ah, no dark roasted grains for a porter. otherwise it’s spot on.

  2. Congrats on making your first batch! It’s a good thing you’re using glass carboys instead of plastic ones. The plastic ones can scratch and then grow bacteria.

Leave a Reply

