Pork Belly Banh Mi

Over the weekend, I had the annual Yahoo! Fantasy Football draft at my house and put together some lunch for our league.  I was originally going to grill up some brats, but with the heat and smoke in the air, I thought it’d be better to keep everything indoors.  I dug up this recipe for a Pork Belly Banh Mi from the LA Times that was adapted from the recipe they use at Mendocino Farms.  And of course I made my own adjustments:

  1. To keep the costs down, I just went with regular pork belly instead of the Kurobuta variety.  Seems kind of unnecessary anyway.
  2. I’m not sure why they use Chipotle Aioli, but I guess that’s ‘in’ right now.  Instead, I put together a sriracha mayo.  (Why can’t I find Hellman’s mayo these days?)
  3. The recipe calls for 1 cup of rice vinegar which seemed way too strong.  I used half of that.
  4. I have no idea why they use ciabatta bread and a press.  I used baguettes from Lee’s, which seemed to fit with the whole banh mi thing.
  5. 3 lbs of the pork belly was enough for 8 sandwiches.  It really doesn’t need to be as stuffed as the picture shows, and it’s a little crazy to be eating that much pork belly.
  6. You don’t need 2 days to prepare.  Just braise the meat the night before, and you’ll have about 2 hours of prep/cooking time.

I forgot to take pictures again, which kinda kills the post, but I just wanted to get my notes down before I forgot em.

Leave a Reply

