Cholesterol Meds, Eggplant Dip, & Berry Smoothies (The Diet, Days 6-12)

Things are going alright on the dieting front.  I’ve been taking Vytorin pretty regularly, and for the first time in my life, I am actually looking forward to taking my next blood test, which I will try to do on day 30.  Over the last seven years or so, I have been taking either Lipitor or Zetia, or a combination of the two.  Unfortunately, I was never able to stay on track.  Remembering to take pills once a day is not hard, but I never stayed consistent with my medication because I did not understand the significance of lowering my cholesterol and the ramifications if I continued to ignore my problem.

Cholesterol-Lowering Drugs
To shed some light on the aforementioned medications, I will once again turn to the ever-informative American Heart Association:

Statins (also known as HMG CoA reductase inhibitors) (Lipitor)
This class of drugs works in the liver to prevent the formation of cholesterol. Statins are most effective at lowering the LDL (bad) cholesterol, but also have modest effects on lowering triglycerides (blood fats) and raising HDL (good) cholesterol. 

Selective cholesterol absorption inhibitors (Zetia)
This relatively new class of cholesterol-lowering medications works by preventing the absorption of cholesterol from the intestine. Selective cholesterol absorption inhibitors are most effective at lowering the LDL (bad) cholesterol, but may also have modest effects on lowering triglycerides (blood fats) and raising HDL (good) cholesterol. 

Vytorin, as it was explained to me, works in both these ways.  Of course, if you are worried about your cholesterol and are interested in any of these medications, consulting your physician is always your first move.

Snacking
As I pointed out earlier in the week, the food that I have been eating has not been satisfying my hunger, so in the mean time and in-between times I’ve been eating a LOT of roasted eggplant dip with toasted sourdough bread courtesy of La Brea Bakery.  This traditional Middle Eastern staple is ridiculously easy to make and delicious, and if you find yourself looking around to nibble on something, you should definitely give it a shot.  There are about a million slightly different ways to make the dip, and what I make is simply based on what is available in my kitchen, but here’s a good recipe from Howstuffworks.com.

The recipe calls for Tahini, which I substituted with olive oil.  Just drizzle the olive oil into the food processor until you get the consistency you want.  The picture above is from a Weber-sponsored site, which suggests adding a can of white cannellini beans, something I will try next time as beans are a great and healthy source of protein.

I’ve also been drinking the same banana & berry smoothie every night.

Ingredients
1 Banana
1 handful of Raspberries and Blackberries
1/3 cup of Soy milk
Ice

Progress Report
On Tuesday, Oct. 30th, I broke my diet in a lapse of judgment as I nibbled on about a handful of tortilla chips when I went to The Prince in Koreatown (I hate linking to Yelp, but that’s probably the best link for their information).  The chips might have been baked, but I doubt it.  They had a nice little salsa on the side, and man were those chips tasty!

Aside from that incident, things have been going well.  I’m still hungry during the day, but the snacks I have at home have been a great help in the evenings.  Next up, setting up an exercise schedule.

One thought on “Cholesterol Meds, Eggplant Dip, & Berry Smoothies (The Diet, Days 6-12)

  1. If you ever want to hear a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this post for four from five. Detailed info, but I have to go to that damn yahoo to find the missed parts. Thanks, anyway!

Leave a Reply

